Six X Factor stars are battling it out to represent UK in this year’s Eurovision

It's time to get ready for some ridiculously cheesy pop.

Six X Factor stars are battling it out to represent UK in this year’s Eurovision

It's that time of year again, when six British hopefuls will perform on Eurovision: You Decide! where the public will pick the act to represent the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest in May.

So who are the new bunch of hopefuls hoping to fly the UK flag this year? 

The BBC has finally announced the acts that will compete, and there's a good chance you might recognise a few of them.

They include Danyl Johnson and Lucie Jones, who were both X Factor finalists in 2009, and Salena Mastroianni, Holly Brewer, Olivia Garcia and Nate Simpson, also all X Factor alumni.

The singers will each battle it out this Friday at the Eurovision: You Decide! 90-minute selection show, which will be hosted by Mel Giedroyc and broadcast live from London's Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith on BBC Two from 7.30pm. The vamps will reportedly also be giving a live performance!

The winner will be decided by a combination of viewer votes and an eight-person jury, including three expert panelists; Strictly Come Dancing's Bruno Tonioli, Sophie Ellis Bextor and vocal coach CeCe Sammy, who will be on hand with feedback and advice, and help pick the best act to represent the United Kingdom at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kiev, Ukraine in May.

Fans, however, have expressed some concern about this year's contenders, because the last time BBC bosses chose an X Factor star was Andy Abrahams in 2008 – who came last at the song contest. 

We didn't do too great last year either. The UK entry Joe and Jake finished 24th in Stockholm with their song You’re Not Alone, and the UK hasn’t finished inside the Top Ten since 2009.

The winner, who will be picked live on BBC2 this Friday night (January 27), faces a tough-looking task, but the contestants are hopeful, and have chosen their songs.

Danyl Johnson, who reached The X Factor live shows in the 2009 - the series that included Olly Murs, Jedward and was won by Joe McElderry, will be singing "Light Up The World".

21-year-old singer and pianist Holly Brewer, who also previously auditioned for The X Factor and has supported shows for Jess Glynne and McFly, will be singing "I Wish I Loved You More".

Lucie Jones, who appeared on the same series of The X Factor as Danyl in 2009, will be singing "Never Give Up On You".

Nate Simpson, who reached the Judges Houses round with Nicole Scherzinger in last year's X Factor series, is hoping to represent the UK this May with "What Are We Made Of".

16-year-old Olivia Garcia, who also reached the Judges Houses stage of last year's X Factor, will be singing "Freedom Hearts".

And finally, Salena Mastroianni, another X Factor alumni who has supported Ed Sheeran on tour and rocked out for Robbie Williams at his New Year’s Eve concert, is going to sing "I Don’t Wanna Fight".

It looks like it might be more Eurofactor that Eurovision this year!

You can listen to all the tracks in full here. Tune in and pick your favourite this Friday (27th January) at 7:30 on BBC Two.